Gold for RadiPac centrifugal fan

ebm-papst put in an impressive showing at the 13th presentation of the MATERIALICA Design + Technology Awards. At the awards ceremony on October 20 in Munich, the RadiPac GreenTech EC centrifugal fan won the Gold award in the "Product" category.

The RadiPac centrifugal fan won Gold at the 2015 MATERIALICA Design + Technology Awards.
The RadiPac centrifugal fan won Gold at the 2015 MATERIALICA Design + Technology Awards.

An independent panel of specialists emphasized its symbiosis of design and technology, especially its aerodynamics, which enable top efficiency. "This is a great acknowledgment of the continuous efforts we’ve made over the years to improve our products," said Michael Strehle, who is responsible for aerodynamics development at ebm-papst, as he accepted the award.

The centrifugal fans in the RadiPac product range are specially designed for use in ventilation and air conditioning equipment and are distinguished by their compactness, efficiency, ease of use and safety. During the current product redesign, the fan specialists at ebm-papst gave special attention to the flow machine, designing the inlet ring for a perfect match with the impeller and its aerodynamically optimized blade channel and achieving a compact design with ideal positioning of the motor in the impeller. And the impeller itself sports new hollow aluminum blades with higher efficiency, lower weight and increased stability. Intake pressure losses have been reduced further, and the air is channeled in the main flow direction of the air conditioning unit, significantly reducing deflection losses. All of these improvements benefit both the environment and users’ wallets: The fans are now 13 percent more efficient and their noise level has decreased by over 3 dB(A).

The MATERIALICA Design + Technology Award recognizes the successful combination of technological expertise and design and is presented each year during the MATERIALICA trade fair in five categories: Material, Surface & Technology, Product, CO2 Efficiency, and the special "Student" award. Other awards in different categories this year went to Schott AG, Grohe Deutschland and the automotive supplier EDAG Engineering.

Katrin Lindner
Trade press coordinator